Labor congratulates the winners and finalists of the Migration and Settlement Awards for 2015.

The awards, hosted by the Migration Council of Australia, recognise outstanding individuals and organisations that assist migrants settle in Australia.


Migration has enriched our cultural landscape and greatly improved our national prosperity.


It is the organisations and individuals such as those recognised tonight who have played a key role in the success of modern, multicultural Australia. 

Labor acknowledges and thanks the outstanding role the Migration Council of Australia has played in highlighting the economic and social benefits of migration and diversity.


In modern Australia, we do not just ‘tolerate’ diversity – we celebrate it, and tonight’s awards reflect this.


Full list of award categories and winners


Settlement Innovation Award


To recognise an organisation or initiative that has demonstrated the most innovative methods in the support of new refugees, migrants or the local community.




• Metropolitan Migrant Resource Centre WA for their ‘Sharing Stories’ program, which uses theatre, filmmaking, art and drama to communicate sexual health and blood borne virus education to migrant communities.


Case Worker of the Year Award


To award individuals, recognised by their employer and/or community who have performed beyond expectations in the settlement of newly arrived refugees or migrants.




• Ali Faraj for his work with the GWS Giants and for his knowledge and experience of multicultural issues in helping deliver harmony and social cohesion outcomes.


Business Inclusion Award


To recognise a business that has successfully delivered a community-orientated program aimed at improving the inclusion of migrants within the Australian workforce.




• Teys Australia (Biloela) for their ongoing commitment to employ individuals from migrant backgrounds and support their settlement within the community.


Sports Leadership Award


To recognise an Australian sports code, organisation or individual that has developed programs or strategies to include new migrants and people from diverse backgrounds.




• Australian Football League’s (AFL) Multicultural Program for their continuous commitment to better sporting, health, leadership, education and employment outcomes for multicultural communities.


Journalism Excellence Award


To recognise excellence in reporting on issues relating to Australian migration.




• Peter Mares for his story 'Living at the Wrong End of the Queue' which presents the story of Priority Group 5 – migrants who lodged valid applications for permanent residency more than four years ago and still face an indefinite wait for processing.


Diversity and the Law Award


To recognise an organisation or individual who has worked to raise awareness of our social and justice systems among new migrants and the rights and responsibilities of citizenship.




• Women's Legal Centre ACT for their ‘Divorce Clinic’ program which draws upon the pro bono services of private family law solicitors to assist CALD women who are seeking a divorce to obtain one.


Empowering Women Award


To recognise an organisation, individual or initiative that has empowered migrant women through a focus on safety, participation, or leadership.




• Islamic Women's Association of Queensland for providing a voice to migrant women with a particular focus on refugee women in assisting them in becoming more independent and resilient.


Lifetime Achievement Award




• Petro Georgiou